Interior decoration: colours and their influence on our emotions

Suggested for you

Learned Monkey

Macau

One thousand and one spices

Icing

Winter picnic

Dépanneur

Tide

Chatting

Yacht Club

Summer Supper

February 6, 2021

"Broyer du noir", "voir la vie en rose", "alerte rouge"... these expressions reflect a reality: colours and emotions are closely linked. Some colours soothe us when others can annoy or even make us hungry. Numerous studies have proven the influence of colours on our behaviour, our emotions and even our decision making.
A little guide to help you find your way around and choose the right colours to decorate your home!

Colours and the brain

When you're not an interior decorator, it's hard to know how to harmonize colours with each other. Because the colours of the walls, furniture, carpet or linens will give your room a singular, harmonious and cosy or deliberately sober and pure character. They can lighten or darken a room, make it bigger or smaller.

Generally speaking, the choice of colours is often based on cultural criteria and habits. They transmit an energy to the person exposed to them: it can attract, soothe, bring joy or, on the contrary, oppress.
How is this possible? Quite simply because when we see a colour, our retina transforms the information into an electrical signal and then transmits it to our brain. Depending on the hue, the brain will secrete "messengers" that will act on our body. Neuroscience has proven that depending on whether we see warm or cold colours, it is not the same area of the brain that is activated.
Pink, for example, is the colour of optimism, happiness and romance. Researchers have shown that in preschool classrooms painted pink, children's drawings are more joyful! It has also been noticed that the colour we wear influences the perception of our speech: to go and ask your boss for a raise, avoid dressing in red, the colour of power and anger. Green, on the other hand, symbolizes harmony; you will have a better chance of succeeding in your negotiations dressed in this colour!

Decorate in colours

No wonder then that in interior design, colours have a special place in the atmosphere that will emanate from a room. We don't dare to apply colour too much, especially on the walls! To be on the safe side, we opt for white, luminous and clean, while colour will sublimate your decoration and furniture. But you still need to master a minimum of codes... Because you don't decorate the living room or the entrance hall in the same way, living rooms in which you will want to find energy or harmony, and a bedroom in which you will want to create a relaxed and cosy atmosphere. Similarly, you will not decorate your condo in the city or your cottage in nature in the same way. Colours can be applied to the walls, or come from a piece of furniture, a carpet or a decorative element such as a beautiful Photography for example. It's up to you to play with shades of colour and contrasts to create an atmosphere that suits you.
Colours differ according to their hues, and thus belong to different groups. First there are primary colours, then secondary, finally tertiary and complementary colours.
Magenta (red), yellow and blue are the primary colours, i.e. they cannot be obtained by mixing them with another colour. The secondary, tertiary and complementary colours are obtained by mixing one primary colour with another or with a colour that has already been mixed. For example, orange is a secondary colour (mixture of two primary colours). White and black are not considered colours.

Warm, cold and neutral colours

Next, three categories must be distinguished: warm, cold and neutral colours.
Warm colours are so called because they give a feeling of warmth. They are red, orange, yellow and beige. In decoration, these colours are eye-catching and often seem to shrink the space, giving an impression of smaller. They can give a warm and cosy feel.
Cool colours contain blue in their composition (blue, green and purple). They also give a feeling of cold to the person exposed to them. They are less eye-catching and seem to make the room seem larger. They give energy to the space.
Finally, neutral or so-called natural colours are black, white, brown and grey. They are ideal for creating a more neutral atmosphere, or to harmonize a colourful decoration, by making the link.

The symbolism of colours

Colours have a real influence on our emotions, and each of them has a symbolism. To create your cocoon in your own image, it is best to master the meaning of colours. Quick review.

The red

Red is the symbol of action, courage, dynamism. It manifests life and power. On the negative side, it is said that it can convey anger or danger. It is a colour that will give a lot of intensity to the play.

Tulips - The Hedge (Netherlands) - François B. for Photo-to-go
Tulips - The Hedge (Netherlands) - François B. for Photo-to-go

Yellow

Yellow is a radiant color that symbolizes energy, joy, sunshine. It will undoubtedly bring a luminous and tonic touch to your room. Be careful however not to abuse it because it is also a colour known to make babies cry and can in the long run create a feeling of anger.

Jaisalmer - India - François B. for Photo-to-go
Jaisalmer - India - François B. for Photo-to-go

The orange

The colour orange is the colour of harmony in human relationships and communication. It is a comforting colour that conveys conviviality. A perfect colour for a living room or a kitchen. It is the colour par excellence of warmth and confidence.

Buoys in beauty - Iles-de-la-Madelaine (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go
Buoys in beauty - Iles-de-la-Madelaine (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go

The blue

It's the colour of calm and tranquility. It brings peace, encourages reflection and spirituality. In interior decoration, all shades of blue are suitable for all rooms in the house, depending on what you are looking for. It will be particularly suitable for a bedroom (the colour "night blue") or a reading room or library, office for work and reflection. It is available from light blue to purple.
Dark blue combined with copper or gold will give an elegant and antique look to your interior.

Afterwork - Montreal (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go
Afterwork - Montreal (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go

The green

Green symbolizes harmony and balance. It is the colour of nature. It goes very well with a vegetal wallpaper for example and is often used in a bathroom.  

OK for a coffee - Bas St Laurent (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go
OK for a coffee - Bas St Laurent (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go

Bright colours are synonymous with dynamism, energy , they will give tone to your interior. Lighter colours, or pastels, will allow you to shade and harmonize a room in which there is a multitude of colourful objects, such as a child's room for example.

The black

In decoration, it is considered elegant and contemporary. It allows you to highlight the objects, textures or other colours that surround it. However, it should be used in moderation because, by definition, it darkens the room because it absorbs light and can shrink it. It will therefore be used preferably on a single wall, or on the floor.

Night Fire - Prince Edward Island (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go
Night Fire - Prince Edward Island (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go

The white

Symbol of purity and clarity, it is the ideal companion for all colours and adapts to all rooms. It reflects light and enlarges the space. It is also considered elegant and contemporary. It enhances the decoration placed on the walls or the coloured elements of your room. But used in excess, it can give the impression of an impersonal interior. It is reminiscent of rooms with a high need for hygiene (doctor's office, hospital, industrial kitchen).
It can therefore advantageously be a little "dark" to give more warmth: for example a beige or sand colour.

Indian Dream - Udaipur (India) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Indian Dream - Udaipur (India) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

These so-called neutral or natural shades (white, black, grey, beige) are often used to highlight other colours, furniture or wall decoration. They bring a touch of elegance and serenity, and are a sure value for all the rooms in your house or condo.

How to choose the right colours?

The atmosphere

For convivial rooms, where you want to create a dynamic atmosphere, and conducive to communication, you will choose warm colours. They will favour a cosy atmosphere. Cold colours are more suitable for rooms where you want to concentrate (office, library) or rest (bedroom).

The exhibition of the piece

Colours allow you to play with the light: it is therefore important to choose the colours of the room according to the exposure to the sun. For example, for rooms facing north, with little sunlight, you should choose warm, bright colours instead. They will warm up the room, making it warmer and even more sophisticated.
Rooms facing south receive more light, so they can tolerate cooler colours very well.

Volumes

Colours also allow you to play with perspectives. To enlarge a room, you can paint the ceiling in white and the walls in colour. To make the ceiling appear lower, paint it with a warm or dark colour. And to make it appear higher, paint it with pale or cool colours, which will give an impression of space and ventilation.
Finally, to play with volumes, you can paint the bottom of the wall in colour, or just one wall of the room. The possibilities are almost endless!

The Golden Rules

In interior decoration, it is advisable to avoid using more than three colours in a single room if you want a harmonious rendering.
Differentiate between passageways and living rooms. In living rooms, where people stay longer, too many bright colours can be tiring in the long run. On the other hand, rooms where you stay for a shorter period of time (entrance, walk-in, toilet) can tolerate intense colours.

Finally, to feel really comfortable in your home, respect your tastes and the colours you like! That way, your home will look like you and you will be comfortable!

Greek Blue - Prince Edward Island (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go
Greek Blue - Prince Edward Island (Canada) - François B. for Photo-to-go

See our Photographs

Keep in touch
Subscribe to our newsletter to receive all our news.
By subscribing, we send you a discount code of -15% for your first purchase of a Photography d'Art.
Thank you! Your subscription has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong when sending the form.
Please try again.

Photo-to-go Sublime your walls

Décoration d’intérieur : les couleurs et leurs influences sur nos émotions

Suggéré pour vous

Clairière

Angélique

Collection

Forêt bleue

Arbre ensoleillé

Entre terre et mer

Lac argenté

Carnaval

Hindi

Hold Fast

February 6, 2021

« Broyer du noir », « voir la vie en rose », « alerte rouge »… ces expressions reflètent bien une réalité : couleurs et émotions sont très liées. Certaines couleurs nous apaisent quand d’autres peuvent agacer, voire donner faim. De nombreuses études ont prouvé l’influence des couleurs sur nos comportements, nos émotions et même nos prises de décision.
Petit guide pour s’y retrouver et pour choisir les bonnes couleurs pour décorer votre intérieur!

Les couleurs et le cerveau

Lorsque l’on n’est pas décorateur d’intérieur, difficile de savoir comment harmoniser les couleurs entre elles. Car les couleurs des murs, des meubles, d’un tapis ou du linge d’intérieur donnera à votre pièce un caractère singulier, harmonieux et cosy ou volontairement sobre et épuré. Elles permettent d’illuminer ou d’assombrir une pièce, de l’agrandir ou de la rapetisser.

De manière générale, le choix des couleurs est souvent basé sur des critères culturels et des habitudes. Elles transmettent une énergie à celui qui y est exposé : elle peut attirer, apaiser, rendre joyeux ou au contraire oppresser.
Comment cela est-il possible? Tout simplement parce que lorsque nous voyons une couleur, notre rétine transforme l’information en signal électrique, puis le transmet à notre cerveau. En fonction de la teinte, celui-ci va secréter des « messagers » qui vont agir sur notre organisme. Les neurosciences ont prouvé que selon que l’on voit des couleurs chaudes ou froides, ce n’est pas la même zone du cerveau qui est activée.
Le rose, par exemple est la couleur de l’optimisme, du bonheur, du romantisme. Des chercheurs ont prouvé que dans les classes préscolaires peintes en rose, les dessins des enfants sont plus joyeux! On a aussi remarqué que la couleur que l’on porte influence la perception de notre discours : pour aller demander une augmentation à votre chef(fe), éviter de vous habiller en rouge, couleur du pouvoir et de la colère. Le vert en revanche symbolise l’harmonie, vous aurez plus de chance de réussir votre négociation habillé dans cette teinte!

Décorer en couleurs

Rien d’étonnant alors qu’en décoration d’intérieur, les couleurs aient une place de choix dans l’atmosphère qui se dégagera d’une pièce. On n’ose trop peu appliquer de la couleur, en particulier sur les murs! Par sécurité, on opte pour le blanc, lumineux et propre, alors que la couleur sublimera votre décoration et vos meubles. Encore faut-il maîtriser un minimum les codes… Car on ne décore pas de la même manière le salon ou l’entrée, pièces à vivres dans lesquelles on voudra trouver de l’énergie ou de l’harmonie, et une chambre à coucher dans laquelle on voudra plutôt créer une ambiance détendue et cosy. De même, vous ne décorerez pas de la même manière votre condo en ville ou votre chalet dans la nature. Les couleurs peuvent être appliquées sur les murs, ou bien venir d’un meuble, d’un tapis ou d’un élément de décoration comme une belle photographie par exemple. Il vous appartient donc de jouer avec les nuances de couleurs et les contrastes pour créer une atmosphère qui vous ressemble.
Les couleurs se distinguent entre elles selon leurs teintes, et appartiennent ainsi à différents groupes. On trouve d’abord les couleurs primaires, puis secondaires, enfin tertiaires et complémentaires.
Le magenta (rouge), le jaune et le bleu constituent les couleurs primaires, c’est-à-dire qu’elles ne peuvent être obtenues par un mélange avec une autre couleur. Les secondaires, tertiaires et complémentaires s’obtiennent en mélangeant une couleur primaire à une autre ou à une couleur déjà mélangée. Par exemple, l’orange est une couleur secondaire (mélange de deux couleurs primaires). Le blanc et le noir quant à elles ne sont pas considérées comme des couleurs.

Couleurs chaudes, froides et neutres

Ensuite, il faut distinguer trois catégories : les couleurs chaudes, froides et neutres.
Les couleurs chaudes sont appelées ainsi car elles donnent une sensation de chaleur. Il s’agit du rouge, orange, jaune et beige. En décoration, ces couleurs attirent le regard et semblent souvent rétrécir l’espace, donner une impression de plus petit. Elles peuvent donner un côté chaleureux et cosy.
Les couleurs froides contiennent du bleu dans leur composition (bleu, vert et violet). Elles donnent aussi une sensation de froid à celui qui y est exposé. Elles attirent moins l’œil et semblent plutôt agrandir la pièce. Elle donnent de l’énergie à l’espace.
Enfin les couleurs neutres ou dites naturelles sont le noir, le blanc, le brun et le gris. Elles sont idéales pour créer une ambiance plus neutre, ou pour harmoniser une décoration colorée, en faisant le lien.

La symbolique des couleurs

Les couleurs ont une réelle influence sur nos émotions, et chacune d’elle comporte une symbolique. Pour créer votre cocon à votre image, mieux vaut maîtriser la signification des couleurs. Rapide passage en revue.

Le rouge

Le rouge est le symbole de l’action, du courage, du dynamisme. Il manifeste la vie et la puissance. En négatif, on dira qu’il peut véhiculer la colère ou le danger. C’est une couleur qui donnera beaucoup d’intensité à la pièce.

Tulipes - La Haie (Pays-Bas) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Tulipes - La Haie (Pays-Bas) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Le jaune

Le jaune est une couleur rayonnante qui symbolise l’énergie, la joie, le soleil. Elle apportera sans nul doute une touche lumineuse et tonique à votre pièce. Attention cependant de ne pas en abuser car c’est aussi une couleur connue pour faire pleurer les bébés et peut à la longue créer un sentiment de colère.

Jaisalmer - Inde - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Jaisalmer - Inde - François B. pour Photo-to-go

L’orange

La couleur orange est celle de l’harmonie des rapports humains, de la communication. C’est une couleur réconfortante qui véhicule la convivialité. Une couleur parfaite pour un salon ou une cuisine. C’est la couleur par excellence de la chaleur et de la confiance.

Bouées en beauté - Iles-de-la-Madelaine (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Bouées en beauté - Iles-de-la-Madelaine (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Le bleu

C’est la couleur du calme et de la tranquillité. Elle apporte apaisement, favorise la réflexion et la spiritualité. Dans la décoration d’intérieur, toutes les teintes de bleu s’adaptent à toutes les pièces de la maison, selon ce qu’on cherche. Elle conviendra particulièrement pour une chambre à coucher (de la couleur « bleu nuit ») ou un salon de lecture ou bibliothèque, bureau de travail et de réflexion. Elle se décline du bleu clair au violet.
Le bleu foncé marié avec du cuivre ou du doré, donnera un côté élégant et antique à votre intérieur.

Afterwork - Montréal (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Afterwork - Montréal (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Le vert

Le vert symbolise l’harmonie et l’équilibre. Il est la couleur de la nature. Il se marie très bien avec un papier peint végétal par exemple et est souvent utilisé dans une salle d’eau.  

OK pour un café - Bas St Laurent (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
OK pour un café - Bas St Laurent (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Les couleurs vives sont synonymes de dynamisme, d’énergie, elles donneront du tonus à votre intérieur. Les couleurs plus pâles, ou pastel, permettront de nuancer et d’harmoniser une pièce dans laquelle se trouve une multitude d’objets colorées, comme par exemple une chambre d’enfant.

Le noir

En décoration, il est considéré comme élégant et contemporain. Il permet de mettre en valeur les objets, les textures ou les autres couleurs qui l’entourent. Il reste cependant à utiliser avec modération car, par définition, il assombrit la pièce, car absorbe la lumière et peut la rétrécir. Il sera donc utilisé de préférence sur un seul mur, ou sur le sol.

Feu nocturne - Ile du Prince Edouard (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Feu nocturne - Ile du Prince Edouard (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Le blanc

Symbole de pureté, de clarté, il est le compagnon idéal de toutes les couleurs et s’adapte à toutes les pièces. Il réfléchit la lumière et agrandit l’espace. Il est également considéré comme élégant et contemporain. Il met en valeur la décoration déposée sur les murs ou les éléments colorés de votre pièce. Mais utilisé avec excès, il peut donner une impression d’un intérieur impersonnel. Il rappelle les pièces à fort besoin d’hygiène (cabinet médical, hôpital, cuisine industrielle).
Il peut donc être avantageusement un peu « foncé » pour donner plus de chaleur : par exemple une teinte beige ou sable.

Songe indien - Udaipur (Inde) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Songe indien - Udaipur (Inde) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Ces teintes dites neutres ou naturelles (blanc, noir, gris, beige) servent souvent à mettre en valeur d’autres couleurs, les meubles ou la décoration murale. Elle apportent une touche d’élégance et de sérénité, et sont une valeur sûre pour toutes les pièces de votre maison ou condo.

Comment bien choisir les couleurs ?

L’ambiance

Pour les pièces conviviales, où l’on veut créer une ambiance dynamique, et propice à la communication, on choisira donc des couleurs chaudes. Elle favoriseront une ambiance cosy. Les couleurs froides seront plutôt utilisées pour les pièces où l’on veut se concentrer (le bureau, la bibliothèque) ou se reposer (chambre à coucher).

L’exposition de la pièce

Les couleurs permettent de jouer avec la lumière : il est donc important de choisir les couleurs de la pièce en fonction de l’exposition au soleil. Par exemple pour les pièces orientées au nord, donc peu ensoleillées, il faudra choisir plutôt des couleurs chaudes et brillantes. Elles réchaufferont la pièce, et la rendront plus chaleureuse voire sophistiquée.
Les pièces orientées sud reçoivent plus de lumière, donc supportent très bien des teintes froides.

Les volumes

Les couleurs vous permettent également de jouer avec les perspectives. Pour agrandir une pièce, vous pouvez peindre le plafond en blanc et les murs en couleurs. Pour faire paraître le plafond plus bas, peignez le avec une couleur chaude ou foncée. Et pour le faire paraître plus haut, peignez le au contraire avec des couleurs pâles ou froides, ce qui donnera une impression d’espace et d’aération.
Enfin, pour jouer avec les volumes, on peut peindre le bas du mur en couleur, ou un seul mur de la pièce. Les possibilités sont presque infinies !

Les règles d’or

En décoration d’intérieur, il est conseillé d’éviter d’utiliser plus de trois couleurs dans une même pièce si vous souhaitez un rendu harmonieux.
Différenciez les pièces de passage et les pièces à vivre. Dans les pièces à vivre, où l’on reste plus longtemps, trop de couleurs vives peuvent à la longue être fatigantes. En revanche, les pièces où l’on reste moins longtemps (entrée, walk-in, toilettes) supportent les couleurs intenses.

Enfin, pour vous sentir vraiment bien chez vous, respectez vos goûts et les couleurs que vous aimez! Ainsi, votre maison vous ressemblera et vous y serez bien!

Bleu grecque - Ile du Prince Edouard (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go
Bleu grecque - Ile du Prince Edouard (Canada) - François B. pour Photo-to-go

Voir nos photographies

Restons en contact
Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre pour recevoir toutes nos actualités.
En vous inscrivant, nous vous envoyons un code rabais de -15% pour votre premier achat d'une photographie d'Art.
Merci! Votre souscription a bien été reçue!
Oups! Quelque chose s'est mal passé lors de l'envoi du formulaire.
Veuillez réessayer s'il vous plaît.

Photo-to-go | Sublimez vos murs